Rolling Thunder Results – 2010

rt101Rolling Thunder 2010 is the third national cadet signals competition, open to all cadet forces (Army Cadet Force, Combined Cadet Force, Air Training Corps and Sea Cadet Corps) It has been held annually since February 2008, at the Royal School of Signals, Blandford Camp, in Dorset. Initially for teams of 4 cadets, this year the format was altered slightly to allow teams of 5, but with 4 nominated cadets in each event. These events are based on cadet military skills, but with an emphasis on signalling. The stands over the last few years have included Voice Procedure, Masts and Antennae, Line laying, Orienteering, March and Shoot, Corps history and CommCen skills. The competition was the brainchild of Capt Dan Lehmann (Brighton College CCF) – the Team Training Officer of the Cadet Force Signals Training Team (CFSTT).

rt102In the first year we were visited by Brigadier Mike Wharmby OBE (General Secretary of ACFA); in the second year by Major General Malcolm Wood CBE (Chairman of ACFA); and this year we were honoured to be visited by Lieutenant General BWB White-Spunner CBE (Commander Field Army).

The event is sponsored by Headquarters Land Forces and the Royal School of Signals – the CFSTT (made up of Cadet Force Adult Volunteers) is extremely grateful for the generous assistance of the Defence College of Communications and Information Systems, especially the TA and Cadets Office, without whom this event could not possibly take place.

rt103Teams have entered from all over the UK; this year’s winners were Dorset ACF, with Reading School CCF; who took part for the first time this year, in second place and Woodbridge School CCF third. 20 teams took part this year, including two from Scotland – Northern Ireland ACF competed in 2009 and the ATC have sent a team each year since Rolling Thunder began.

Position Unit Name Points
1st Dorset ACF 123
2nd Reading School CCF 117
3rd Woodbridge School CCF 106
4th Somerset ACF 102
5th Cambridge ACF (1) 96
6th Warwick School CCF 90
7th Bournemouth School CCF 85
8th Merchant Taylors School CCF 82
9th Central & East Region ATC 78
10th Churchers College CCF 74
11th Kent ACF 64
12th Sutton Valence School CCF 62
13th Cambridge ACF (2) 62
14th West Lowland Bn ACF 60
15th Royal Russell School CCF 60
16th Essex ACF (1) 47
17th Middlesex & NW London ACF 47
18th Surrey ACF 47
19th Essex ACF (2) 45
20th Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders Bn ACF 40

Howell Trophy (Best Individual) – Awarded to Cdt RSM Sandercock of Gwent & Powys ACF.